How Much Is Bail For Domestic Violence?
Domestic violence is a misdemeanor in the state of Nevada and comes with a substantial bail amount.
So, how much is bail for domestic violence?
Answer: For first-time offenses, bail for domestic violence is around $3000. The amount rises sharply for second and third offenses or if there has been serious physical injury to the victim.
In Las Vegas, bail for domestic violence can run as high as $20,000.
Here is the bail schedule according to the Clark County Bar Association.
Bail Schedule Exceptions
There are felonies that do not have a schedule for bail, such as fleeing the scene of an accident.
Contact Us For A Flexible Bail Bond Payment Plan
If you cannot pay your bail, contact Lightning Bail Bonds to assist you. We offer flexible payment plans on your bail bond premium to make getting out of jail easy.
What Is A Misdemeanor In Nevada?
While it’s important to answer the question, “How much is bail for domestic violence?” it’s not the only question you need to ask.
The other question to ask is, “What is a misdemeanor in Nevada?”
Simply put, a misdemeanor is a crime punishable by a fine or up to six months in prison. A misdemeanor is not as serious as a felony, although it can still have lasting consequences.
How Long After An Assault Can You Press Charges?
There are limitations to when you can prosecute criminal offenses.
For petty misdemeanors, you are looking at one year and for gross misdemeanors, you are looking at two years.
It is important to file a police report as close to the incident as possible so that it can be prosecuted.
Sealing Your Criminal Record
For most misdemeanors, you have to wait 1-2 years to inquire about having your record sealed. However, if you are charged with domestic violence, you will have a waiting period of seven years.
Can You Drop Assault Charges In NV?
Yes, you can.
There is always the problem of false accusations that can be used against a person. Accusers who have a change of heart are always able to come clean and admit there was no domestic abuse.
In such a case, the charges can be dropped, but it may be a process. They usually cannot be dropped automatically.
If you are the victim of a false accusation for domestic violence, your attorney will have to go through the process of building your case to get your name cleared.
When Did Domestic Violence Become illegal?
Laws concerning domestic abuse have definitely evolved and changed throughout time.
A few key pieces of legislation are:
● Victims of Crime Act passed in 1984
● Family Violence Prevention and Services Act also passed in 1984
● Violence Against Women Act passed in 1994.
The VAWA passed in 1994 solidifies that domestic violence is a federal offense
If you have been victimized by domestic violence, please reach out to local authorities to seek help and safety.